Alpha Tau Omega

Indiana University


The History of Our Chapter

Indiana’s chapter was founded on December 4, 1915 and the construction of the house was completed in 1928. Located on 3rd Street, ATO was one of the very first fraternities established on Indiana’s campus. One of the chapter’s famous alumni, Howard Wilcox, created the Little 500 bicycle race that is still a strong part of IU’s tradition.

The History of Our Organization

Alpha Tau Omega was founded on September 11, 1865 at the Virginia Military Institute in Lexington, Virginia. Three men founded the fraternity: Otis Allan Glazebrook, Alfred Marshall, and Erskine Mayo Ross. During the Civil War, Otis Allan Glazebrook wanted to reunite the North and South through brotherhood. He started the fraternity with his two friends, which soon became the first national fraternity in the United States.

Our Symbols

Their symbol was designed by one of their founders, Glazebrook, in 1865. This Badge consists of four arms and a circular middle, symbolizes the Christian name and fraternity that Alpha Tau Omega was originally founded on. The Badge also consists of three stars, the crescent, clasped hands, and the Tau Cross.


Alpha Tau Omega offers more than $100,000 in scholarships for its brothers. To be eligible for these scholarships, one must have a 3.5/4.0 or higher grade point average and be an initiated member of ATO in good standing. Scholarships are awarded based on the following scale: 30% demonstrated leadership on campus and in the community, 30% demonstrated leadership within ATO, and 40% academic achievements.