Kappa Delta

Indiana University


The History of Our Chapter

The Sigma Upsilon chapter of Kappa Delta was established at Indiana University on October 23, 1897. Through community service, academics, involvement in clubs and organizations, and loyalty and love within the sisterhood of the organization, KD at IU has continued to grow to be one of the leading sororities on campus.

The History of Our Organization

Kappa Delta was founded on October 23, 1897 at the State Female Normal School in Farmville, Virginia. It was initially one of the “Farmville Four” founded at the State Female Normal School along with Alpha Sigma Alpha, Sigma Sigma Sigma and Zeta Tau Alpha. Four young women, Lenora Shamore Blackiston, Mary Sommerville Sparks Hendricks, Julia Gardiner Tyler Wilson, and Sara Turner White, founded KD sorority with the beliefs of friendship, fellowship, and sisterly love. Today, Kappa Delta has charter 504 chapters, more than any other National PanHellenic Group and currently has 143 active chapters located around the United States.

Our Symbols

The sorority colors of KD are both olive green and pearl white. The sorority flower is the White Rose and their jewels are the diamond, emerald, and pearl. Some other representative symbols of Kappa Delta are the nautilus shell, dagger, teddy bear, and Katydid. Their motto is “Let us strive for that which is honorable, beautiful, and highest.”


The Kappa Delta Foundation is focused on awarding its sisters with academic excellence, community service, and many other unique reasons. All scholarships must be applied for online using the same application. Sisters are limited to winning two scholarships over the course of their lifetime from the Kappa Delta Foundation. The Indiana University chapter, the Sigma Upsilon Chapter, has its own scholarship, the Myrtle Mae Comer-Loy Sigma Upsilon Scholarship. This scholarship is available to any full-time Kappa Delta sister during her second, third, or fourth year at IU.