Zeta Tau Alpha

Indiana University


The History of Our Chapter

The Alpha Xi chapter of Zeta Tau Alpha was founded at Indiana University on May 19, 1922.

The History of Our Organization

Zeta Tau Alpha was founded in 1898 by nine young women. They shared similar beliefs and backgrounds and as their education went on, they were afraid that their strong friendships would fade since they did not have a formal bond to carry on this comradeship.

Our Symbols

It was on October 15, 1898, that the Founders chose the colors, the flower, and the motto of Zeta Tau Alpha to represent the Fraternity. The Founders chose Themis as their patron goddess to represent the sorority, and as the name of Zeta Tau Alpha’s quarterly magazine which features collegiate and alumnae chapter news, photos and achievements. The five-pointed Crown is an official symbol of the sorority. Many examples of crown artwork can be found within ZTA, and all are acceptable as long as the crown contains exactly five points. Other symbols include the white violet and the strawberry.


While the Foundation has expanded its mission to support other philanthropic and educational programs, it remains whole-heartedly committed to the ZTA Scholarship Program. As educational costs rise, the number of scholarship applicants increases. Thanks to contributions from Zeta Tau Alpha alumnae chapters, collegiate chapters, members and friends, the Foundation awarded $602,288 to 235 graduate and undergraduates in the 2011-2012 school year.